Junior doctors > Critical appraisal and journal clubs
Find details of the library training programme on critical appraisal as well as free e-learning modules
Clinical Outreach Librarians can support your journal club by:
Please contact the clinical outreach librarians for more information
Clinical Evidence Made Easy by
"This is one of a number of basic science books on evidence-based medicine and a very good addition to the library. The authors present the concepts in a unique and simple way that is easy to read and understand." Clinical Evidence MadeEasyis a concise andaccessible introduction for any healthcare professional looking to understandclinical data sources. As clinical evidence becomes increasingly important in healthcare it is vitalthat healthcare professionals can read, analyse and understand the clinicaldata being presented. This book will equip the reader with the core skills andknowledge to make sense of the clinical evidence, without over-burdening themwith information and jargon. Building on the successof the other 'Made Easy' books (Medical Statistics Made Easy, HealthcareEconomics Made Easy, Practice Accounts Made Easy), this is a book fornon-specialists who need knowledge of the key tools and techniques so they canunderstand the clinical data, but who have no need to become experts in thesubject. Clinical Evidence MadeEasywill enable healthcareworkers in all fields to understand and implement the results from clinicaltrials, clinical journals and other data sources with confidence.
Evidence-Based Medicine by
Evidence Based Medicine provides a clear explanation of the central questions: how to ask answerable clinical questions; how to translate them into effective searches for the best evidence; how to critically appraise that evidence for its validity and importance; and how to integrate it with patients' values and preferences.
How to Read a Paper by
The best-selling introduction to evidence-based medicine In a clear and engaging style, How to Read a Paper demystifies evidence-based medicine and explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice. An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice. This fifth edition has been fully updated with new examples and references to reflect recent developments and current practice. It also includes two new chapters on applying evidence-based medicine with patients and on the common criticisms of evidence-based medicine and responses. How to Read a Paper is a standard text for medical and nursing schools as well as a friendly guide for everyone wanting to teach or learn the basics of evidence-based medicine.
Interpreting Statistical Findings by
"This book makes the task of interpreting statistical findings much more approachable and less daunting for those with little, or no, previous experience, and will provide a valuable reference for the more experienced researcher. I would recommend it to any student undertaking a Nursing Research module." Conor Hamilton, Student Nurse, Queen's University Belfast, UK Need help interpreting other people's health research? This book offers guidance for students undertaking a critical review of quantitative research papers and will also help health professionals to understand and interpret statistical results within health-related research papers. The book requires little knowledge of statistics, includes worked examples and is broken into the following sections: A worked example of a published RCT and a health survey Explanations of basic statistical concepts Explanations of common statistical tests A quick guide to statistical terms and concepts Walker and Almond have helpfully cross-referenced throughout, so those requiring in-depth explanations or additional worked examples can locate these easily. Interpreting Statistical Research Findings is key reading for nursing and health care students and will help make this area of research much easier to tackle!
Medical Statistics at a Glance by
Medical Statistics at a Glance is a concise and accessible introduction and revision aid for this complex subject. The self-contained chapters explain the underlying concepts of medical statistics and provide a guide to the most commonly used statistical procedures. This new edition of Medical Statistics at a Glance: Presents key facts accompanied by clear and informative tables and diagrams Focuses on illustrative examples which show statistics in action, with an emphasis on the interpretation of computer data analysis rather than complex hand calculations Includes extensive cross-referencing, a comprehensive glossary of terms and flow-charts to make it easier to choose appropriate tests Now provides the learning objectives for each chapter Includes a new chapter on Developing Prognostic Scores Includes new or expanded material on study management, multi-centre studies, sequential trials, bias and different methods to remove confounding in observational studies, multiple comparisons, ROC curves and checking assumptions in a logistic regression analysis The companion website at www.medstatsaag.com contains supplementary material including an extensive reference list and multiple choice questions (MCQs) with interactive answers for self-assessment. Medical Statistics at a Glance will appeal to all medical students, junior doctors and researchers in biomedical and pharmaceutical disciplines. Reviews of the previous editions "The more familiar I have become with this book, the more I appreciate the clear presentation and unthreatening prose. It is now a valuable companion to my formal statistics course." International Journal of Epidemiology "I heartily recommend it, especially to first years, but it′s equally appropriate for an intercalated BSc or Postgraduate research. If statistics give you headaches - buy it. If statistics are all you think about - buy it." GKT Gazette "...I unreservedly recommend this book to all medical students, especially those that dislike reading reams of text. This is one book that will not sit on your shelf collecting dust once you have graduated and will also function as a reference book." 4th Year Medical Student, Barts and the London Chronicle, Spring 2003
Medical Statistics Made Easy by
This is a practical guide to the use of statistics in medical literature and their application in clinical practice. The numerous examples help make the conceptualization of complex ideas easy. It is a great resource for healthcare students and clinicians in the field." MedicalStatistics Made Easyhas been a perennial bestseller since it was firstpublished in 2003 (#1 bestseller in medical statistics on Amazon). It is widelyrecommend on a variety of courses and programmes, from undergraduate medicine,through to professional medical qualifications. It isa book of key statistics principles for anyone studying or working in medicineand healthcare who needs a basic overview of the subject. Using a consistent format, the authors describe the most common statisticalmethods in turn and then rate them on how difficult they are to understand andhow common they are. The worked examples that demonstrate the statistical method in action have beenupdated to include current articles from the medical literature and now featurea much wider range of medical journals. Thisnew third edition continues with the same structure as the previous editions andalso features a completely revised "Statistics at work" section. Fromreviews of the second edition: "We wouldrecommend this book as an introduction into medical statistics before plunginginto the deep 'statistical' waters! It gives confidence to the reader in takingup the challenge of understanding statistics and [being] able to applyknowledge in analysing medical literature." Stefanie Zhao LinLip & Louise Murchison, Scottish Medical Journal, June 2010 "If ever therewas a book that completely lived up to its title, this is it... The whole wayin which the authors have written this book is commendab≤ the chapters aresuccinct, easy to follow and a pleasure to read...Is it value for money? - a definiteyes even at twice the price. Of course I never exaggerate but if you breathe,you should own this book!" Ian Pearce,Urology News, June 2010
Oxford Handbook of Medical Statistics by
To practice evidence-based medicine, doctors need to understand how research is conducted and be able to critically appraise research evidence. A sound understanding of medical statistics is essential for the correct evaluation of medical research and the appropriate implementation of findingsin clinical practice. Written in an easily accessible style, the Oxford Handbook of Medical Statistics provides doctors and medical students with a concise and thorough account of this often difficult subject. It promotes understanding and interpretation of statistical methods across a wide range of topics, from studydesign and sample size considerations, through t- and chi-squared tests, to complex multifactor analyses, using examples from published research. References for further reading are given for more information on specific topics.Helping readers to conduct their own research or critically appraise other's work, this volume provides all the information readers need to understand and interpret medical statistics.
Statistics at Square One by
The new edition of this international bestseller continues to throw light on the world of statistics for health care professionals and medical students. Revised throughout, the 11th edition features new material in the areas of relative risk, absolute risk and numbers needed to treat diagnostic tests, sensitivity, specificity, ROC curves free statistical software The popular self-testing exercises at the end of every chapter are strengthened by the addition of new sections on reading and reporting statistics and formula appreciation.
Statistics Toolkit by
This concise book will help you to interpret the statistical evidence provided by quantitative studies and to plan how to work with data in your own clinical research. Following the successful format of the Toolkit series, Statistics Toolkit guides the reader through statistical concepts using flowcharts, diagrams and real life examples to reflect concepts in a simple and practical manner. Sections include: Clear explanation of basic concepts in the context of clinical research Demonstration of how data are described, displayed and interpreted in different formats Practical glossary and key to the symbols used in statistics and a discussion of the software tools The book offers a handy, quick reference that has an easy-to-follow structure throughout, making it ideal for health care professionals and students.
Understanding Clinical Papers by
Understanding Clinical Papers is a popular and well established introduction to reading clinical papers. It unravels the process of evidence-based practice, using real papers to illustrate how to understand and evaluate published research, and provides clear explanations of important research-related topics.
