Becoming a Reflective Practitioner PRINT BOOK by
'Christopher Johns is an internationally recognised pioneer of reflective practice in nursing and health care.' - Nursing Standard Becoming a Reflective Practitioner provides a unique insight into reflective practice, exploring the value of using models of reflection, with particular reference to Christopher Johns' own model for structured reflection. Now in its fifth edition, this book has been completely revised and updated to include up-to-date literature and reflective extracts. Contemporary in approach, this definitive text contains a variety of rich and insightful reflective extracts that support the main issues being raised in each chapter, and challenges practitioners and students to question their own practice. Now with further scenarios and case studies included throughout, these extracts provide the reader with access to the experience of reflective representation helping to explicate the way in which reflective practice can inform the wider notion of professional practice. With an increase in professional registration requiring reflective evidence, this new edition of Becoming a Reflective Practitioner is an essential guide to all those using reflection in everyday clinical practice.
Developing Reflective Practice by
From Reviews: "...In this book the clinical psychologist Natius Oelofsen describes the processes of learning and the three-step reflective cycle, explaining how keeping a reflective journal offers insights into self and behaviour, and using critical analysis to reflect on even ordinary, everyday incidents. He shows how the insights of understanding help our interactions with patients and colleagues. Reflection helps us work together, offer support and see where we are able to fit in as team members. The chapter 'All for one and one for all: building supportive teams' is particularly illuminating. There is so much in this book, including getting the most from supervision, ethical issues and dealing with work-based stress, as well as exercises, activities and case examples." Nursing Standard, Vol. 26, No. 48, August 2012 "Developing Reflective Practiceis a thorough and concise book enabling students, qualified nurses and any other health professional to become confident reflective practitioners within their own field.... A well-written and educational tool particularly for a nursing student and even a social work student." Nursing Times, 11 October 2012 Developing Reflective Practiceis suitable for students and practitioners in a variety of fields, including nursing, psychology, social work, therapeutic child care, and education. What all of these fields have in common is that practitioners deal with fundamental human needs such as physical and mental health, housing, and education. Students on placement as well as qualified and experienced practitioners can benefit from reading this book and working through the reflective exercises that accompany the text. The goal of the book is to help the reader feel confident and competent when confronted with complex and emotionally demanding situations in the workplace. By working through the numerous and varied activities and exercises detailed in this book, the reader will acquire the skills needed to make sense of their experiences in a professional context.
Reflection for Nursing Life by
Over the past decades, reflection has taken centre stage in nursing education but it is easy to get stuck in a superficial cycle of storytelling and self-examination, without getting any further insights into your own practice and abilities. Reflection for Nursing Life starts with a basic introduction to reflective practice and moves through to look at more critical perspectives, with guidance for reflecting on the complex realities of practice. This accessible text is designed to support a deeper understanding of the value of reflection and its relationship with the needs of modern practice. Beginning with discussions of self-awareness and the reflective cycle, it goes on to explore ideas about critical incidents, critical reflection models and transformational learning. It integrates cutting-edge neuro-scientific research and thinking about emotional labour and intelligence in healthcare into mainstream reflective practice, drawing on both new and established ways of guiding learning and professional judgment. Reflection for Nursing Life includes numerous exemplar reflective narratives, diagrams and exercises to help the reader identify their strengths and weaknesses, whilst tips for overcoming weaknesses and developing strengths are also provided. It is the ideal text for nursing students and practitioners looking to improve their reflective practice skills.
Reflective Practice for Healthcare Professionals by
"This detailed, practical guide to reflective practice has relevance to all healthcare practitioners. Taylor offers readers her REFLECT model to guide them through the process of reflection... Throughout she uses a wide variety of techniques to explain and illustrate what to expect and how to adapt and accommodate to different circumstances and preferences... This book has such depth and detail and yet at the same time is practical and written in plain language. There is literally something for everyone..." Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy, April 2011 78(2) "Taylor reveals how reflection and contemplation creatively welds the everyday working day world to a myriad of cultural, ethical, moral and managerial challenges. This book offers the beginning practitioner a broad understanding of why conscious awareness of one's thinking matters. Taylor's insight reveals her deep thoughtfulness as a meticulous researcher, supervisor and mentor and her guidelines will ground you in shaping your own development as a researcher in practice." Dr Margaret Martin, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand "Reflection, as a process of critical self-evaluation, continues to grow and be recognised as a successful,approach to improving, changing and managing healthcare practice. This latest text by Taylor is a welcome addition to the increasing body of knowledge on the subject. She writes, as always, with exceptional clarity and manages to combine practical guidance with experiential insights and theoretical frameworks. Highlighting the importance of ordinary human communication for all healthcare professionals, Taylor's text and presence is anything but ordinary." Professor Dawn Freshwater, University of Leeds, UK "This book is about more than reflection, it is about a philosophy of nursing that Taylor has espoused throughout her career, and it makes a connection with the reader in a way that many books do not.This is a must-have book for all who wish to move their practice forwards." Joanne Pike, Senior Lecturer, NEWI, North Wales This popular book provides practical guidance for healthcare professionals wishing to reflect on their work and improve the way they undertake clinical procedures, interact with other people at work and deal with power issues. The new edition has been broadened in focus from nurses and midwives exclusively, to include all healthcare professionals. Practice stories by a variety of healthcare professionals are interweaved throughout the book to illustrate reflective practice and 'author's reflections' boxes are used to illustrate the author's experience of reflective practice. The book contains a clear and comprehensive description of: The fundamentals of reflective practice and how and why it is embraced in healthcare professions Strategies for effective reflection Systematic approaches to technical, practical and emancipatory reflection A step-by-step guide to applying the Taylor REFLECT model This edition also introduces the concept of 'ordinariness' in health care, which used consciously with the reflective practice processes in this book should increase the likelihood that patients receiving healthcare will feel acknowledged, heard and comforted as intelligent human beings.
Reflective Practice in Nursing EBOOK by
From reviews of previous editions: 'This excellent book provides useful guidance on the use of reflection in practice.... a helpful addition to any nursing library.' Primary Health Care '?an excellent investment in any nurses? library portfolio.' Journal of Advanced Nursing 'An extremely welcome addition to nursing's literature on thoughtful, knowledgeable practice.' Nursing Times 'This is an excellent practical guide to reflective practice?I would highly recommend this book to all practice teachers and students.' Journal of Practice Nursing The ability to reflect on practice has become a competency demanded of every healthcare professional in recent years. It can be a daunting prospect- but this practical and accessible text guides the way, using the latest research and evidence to support the development of skills in reflective practice and provides help and advice on how to get started, how to write reflectively and how to continue to use reflective practice in everyday situations. This fifth edition of Reflective Practice in Nursing is an indispensable guide for students and practitioners alike who wish to learn more about reflective practice, as well as containing essential information for teachers and lecturers.
Reflective Practice in Nursing PRINT BOOK by
From reviews of previous editions: 'This excellent book provides useful guidance on the use of reflection in practice.... a helpful addition to any nursing library.' Primary Health Care '?an excellent investment in any nurses? library portfolio.' Journal of Advanced Nursing 'An extremely welcome addition to nursing's literature on thoughtful, knowledgeable practice.' Nursing Times 'This is an excellent practical guide to reflective practice?I would highly recommend this book to all practice teachers and students.' Journal of Practice Nursing The ability to reflect on practice has become a competency demanded of every healthcare professional in recent years. It can be a daunting prospect- but this practical and accessible text guides the way, using the latest research and evidence to support the development of skills in reflective practice and provides help and advice on how to get started, how to write reflectively and how to continue to use reflective practice in everyday situations. This fifth edition of Reflective Practice in Nursing is an indispensable guide for students and practitioners alike who wish to learn more about reflective practice, as well as containing essential information for teachers and lecturers.
The books listed on this page are available to borrow from the Trust library service even if not held in stock locally. You can see if an item is currently on loan by clicking on the title. You can also search the library catalogue.
Whether the book you need is in stock or not, you can request by email or online free of charge. If you are not based at StokeMandeville Hospital, books can be sent to you in the internal mail.
