Manual of Cardiovascular Medicine by Thomas Lüscher (Editor)The Manual of Cardiovascular Medicine is an up-to-date pocket guide for students, trainees, junior cardiologists and even for consultants during clinics and rounds, as well as health professionals such as cardiac nurses providing diagnostic algorhythms, indications for procedures, drug use,and guidelines in a nut shell.It is succinct, with bullet pointed information and attractive illustrations and flow charts in each chapter, making it a quick and easy reference for everyday use.
Publication Date: 2022-04-19
ABC of Hypertension by D. Gareth Beevers; Gregory Y. H. Lip; Eoin O'BrienHigh blood pressure is a common chronic medical problem encountered in primary care, yet it is commonly under diagnosed. ABC of Hypertension is a long established, practical guide to the investigation, treatment and management of hypertensive patients. This sixth edition: Provides practical guidance on measurement of blood pressure and the investigation and management of hypertensive patients Explains new developments in measurement and automated measurement of blood pressure and Updates coverage on treatment of the elderly and explains of the implications of recent trials Incorporates current British Hypertension Society and NICE guidelines
Publication Date: 2014-12-15
Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy by Eleanor Main (Editor); Linda Denehy (Editor)The fifth edition of this seminal textbook continues to provide those who are studying or are in practice with comprehensive evidence-based coverage of all the main aspects of respiratory and cardiac physiotherapy throughout the whole lifespan - neonates, infants, children, adolescents and adults - with the patient at centre and advocating a problem-based approach. For the new edition, Jennifer Pryor and Ammani Prasad hand the baton of editorship and their lasting legacy over to Eleanor Main and Linda Denehy. With a team of over 60 international expert authors, the new editors have incorporated major changes reflecting current cardiorespiratory physiotherapy education and practice. These changes are heralded by a new title - Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy: Adults and Paediatrics (formerly Physiotherapy for Respiratory and Cardiac Problems: Adults and Paediatrics) - and a significant restructure of the content with a new set of chapters. A new key chapter on anatomy and physiology of the respiratory system lays the foundation which is then followed by a chapter on clinical assessment of adults, infants and children, and acutely ill or deteriorating patients. Additional new content includes a chapter on outcome measurement in practice and a large chapter describing rehabilitation in acute and chronic conditions in special populations including spinal cord injury, oncology, trauma and paediatrics. The chapter on therapeutic interventions is comprehensive and reflective of evidence based practice. Integrates evidence with clinical practice Case studies used to facilitate problem solving Boxes throughout highlighting key issues and points Emphasizes the need for a holistic approach to patient care Bank of 350 images on Evolve Resources. Log on to https://evolve.elsevier.com/Main/cardiorespiratory and register to access. Newly appointed editors - Eleanor Main (UK) and Linda Denehy (Australia) Content restructure and overhaul with contributions from over 60 world leading experts Chapters on: Anatomy and physiology of the respiratory system Clinical assessment of the adult, infant/child and the acutely ill/deteriorating patient Outcome measurement in practice Therapeutic interventions Managing special populations Over 180 new figures including additional full-colour photographs
Publication Date: 2016-08-10
Cardiovascular Nursing Demystified by Jim KeoghPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity,or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The fun, fast, and easy way to learn the core concepts and skills of cardiovascular nursing Whether you're a student seeking to excel in a course or a professional nurse transitioning into care of cardiovascular patients, this is the book you need to quickly and easily understand the key concepts and advanced protocols in cardiovascular nursing - and how to apply them in real world situations. Cardiovascular Nursing DeMYSTiFieD is your step-by-step guide to learn how to successfully identify patients' signs and symptoms, accurately interpret medical test results and perform the nursing interventions that will assist in restoring your patients to good cardiovascular health. In order to make the learning process as effective as possible, each concise chapter features learning objectives, key terms, brief overview of topics, content summaries, chapter-ending review questions, and explanatory tables and diagrams. The book concludes with a comprehensive final exam comprised of NCLEX®-style questions.
Publication Date: 2015-09-21
Clinical guide to cardiology by Christian F. Camm (Editor)Clinical Guide to Cardiology is a quick-reference resource, packed full of bullet points, diagrams, tables and algorithms for the key concepts and facts for important presentations and conditions within cardiology. It provides practical, evidence-based information on interventions, investigations, and the management of clinical cardiology. Key features include: A clear evidence-base providing key guidelines and clinical trials in each chapter Coverage of examination techniques, common conditions, imaging modalities (including ECGs, chest X-rays, MRI and CT), interventional therapies, and pharmacology A companion website at www.wiley.com/go/camm/cardiology featuring audio clips, developed for differing levels of knowledge, that explain key concepts or an area in greater detail, as well as numerous additional clinical case studies, audio scripts, and self-assessment material
Pocket Tutor ECG Interpretation by Simon James; Katharine NelsonTitles in the Pocket Tutor series give practical guidance on subjects that medical students and foundation doctors need help with 'on the go', at a highly-affordable price that puts them within reach of those rotating through modular courses or working on attachment. Topics reflect information needs stemming from today's integrated undergraduate and foundation courses: Common presentations Investigation options (e.g. ECG, imaging) Clinical and patient-orientated skills (e.g. examinations, history-taking) The highly-structured, bite-size content helps novices combat the 'fear factor' associated with day-to-day clinical training, and provides a detailed resource that students and junior doctors can carry in their pocket. Key points New edition of the best-selling title that breaks down a complex and daunting subject using clearly-labelled, full-page ECG traces and concise but informative text Revised text and brand-new ECG traces bring the new edition fully up-to-date New chapters cover electrolyte and homeostatic disorders, and normal variants Logical, sequential content: relevant basic science, then a guide to understanding a normal ECG and the building blocks of an abnormal ECG, before describing clinical disorders
ECGs Made Easy by Barbara J. AehlertUnderstanding ECGs has never been easier than with ECGs Made Easy, 6th Edition! In compliance with the American Heart Association's 2015 ECC resuscitation guidelines, Barbara Aehlert's new edition offers clear explanations, a conversational tone, and a wealth of practice exercises to help students and professionals from a variety of medical fields learn how to accurately recognize and interpret basic dysrhythmias. Each heart rhythm covered in the book includes a sample ECG rhythm strip and a discussion of possible patient symptoms and general treatment guidelines. Other user-friendly features include: ECG Pearls with insights based on real-world experience, Drug Pearls highlighting the medications used to treat dysrhythmias, Clinical Correlation call-outs, Lead In applicatinos, Stop & Review questions, a comprehensive post-test with answers, and more. It's everything you need to master ECG interpretation with ease! Clear ECG discussions highlight what you need to know about ECG mechanisms, rhythms, and heart blocks, such as: How Do I Recognize It? What Causes It? What Do I Do About It? Introduction to the 12-Lead ECG chapter provides all the basics for this advanced skill, including determining electrical axis, ECG changes associated with myocardial ischemia and infarction, bundle branch block, and other conditions. A comprehensive post-test with answers at the end of the book measures your understanding. ECG Pearl boxes offer useful hints for interpreting ECGs, such as the importance of the escape pacemaker. Drug Pearl boxes highlight various medications used to treat dysrhythmias. Chapter key terms focus your attention on the most important information. Chapter objectives tied to chapter text enable you to quickly review content that satisfies specific learning objectives. NEW! 38 New cardiac rhythm strips have been added to the book for a total of 260 practice strips. NEW! AHA compliance ensures the book reflects the American Heart Association's 2015 ECC resuscitation guidelines. NEW! Lead In boxes cover ECG principles, practical applications, indications, techniques, and interpretation. NEW! Expanded coverage of ambulatory monitoring provides more in-depth guidance in this critical area.
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Echo Made Easy by Sam KaddouraEchocardiography (echo), the use of ultrasound to examine the heart, is a powerful and safe technique which is now widely available for cardiovascular investigation. This simple and highly praised text is a practical and clinically useful introduction to the subject. It aims to explain the echo techniques available, outlines what they are most suitable for, and most importantly puts echo into a clinical perspective. This book will be of value to all those who use or request echo, particularly doctors in training and medical students, but also physicians, surgeons, general practitioners, technicians, nurses and paramedics. This Third Edition takes full account of recent advances in echocardiography. A new chapter on performing and reporting an echo has been added. New text has been added on the role of echo in individuals with cancer and in diseases of the aorta. There are updated and expanded sections on pregnancy, the continuity equation, diastolic function, long-axis function and 3-D echo. There are also updates and more detailed sections on the use of echo in emergency situations, in cardiomyopathies and pericardial diseases, in congenital abnormalities and in cardiac resynchronization therapy. Up-to-date published international guidelines have been referenced throughout. New online content is available in the form of echo video images with accompanying self-assessment questions which will allow the reader to carry out self-assessment of knowledge and to see examples of the echos described in the text. This highly-praised book is a simple guide to a difficult subject, written in a conversational and accessible style. It is essential reading for anyone wishing to learn about echo - doctors in training, cardiac technicians, medical students etc. It provides full practical coverage of the clinical aspects of heart disease. It will be of great use to those experienced in echo both as a refresher and an accessible reference source.
Fragile lives : a heart surgeon's stories of life and death on the operating table by Westaby, StephenSHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA BIOGRAPHY PRIZE THE SUNDAY TIMES NO.2 BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE BMA PRESIDENT'S AWARD 2017 An incredible memoir from one of the world's most eminent heart surgeons, recalling some of the most remarkable and poignant cases he's worked on. Grim Reaper sits on the heart surgeon's shoulder. A slip of the hand and life ebbs away. The balance between life and death is so delicate, and the heart surgeon walks that rope between the two. In the operating room there is no time for doubt. It is flesh, blood, rib-retractors and pumping the vital organ with your bare hand to squeeze the life back into it. An off-day can have dire consequences - this job has a steep learning curve, and the cost is measured in human life. Cardiac surgery is not for the faint of heart. Professor Stephen Westaby took chances and pushed the boundaries of heart surgery. He saved hundreds of lives over the course of a thirty-five year career and now, in his astounding memoir, Westaby details some of his most remarkable and poignant cases - such as the baby who had suffered multiple heart attacks by six months old, a woman who lived the nightmare of locked-in syndrome, and a man whose life was powered by a battery for eight years. A powerful, important and incredibly moving book, Fragile Lives offers an exceptional insight into the exhilarating and sometimes tragic world of heart surgery, and how it feels to hold someone's life in your hands.
Call Number: WO95
Publication Date: 2018
Heart Failure and Palliative Care by Miriam Johnson (Editor); Richard Lehman (Editor)Full of practical, evidence based advice, Heart Failure and Palliative Care encourages a multidisciplinary team based approach. It stimulates joint working between primary care, cardiology and palliative care teams ¿ raising awareness of the problems associated with supportive and palliative care for heart failure patients. The second edition has been significantly revised and updated with brand new chapters and sections on shared decision making, advance care planning, devices, ACP and non-LVSD failure. Heart Failure and Palliative Care offers optimum care solutions vital to all palliative care professionals in a wide variety of hospital and community settings.
Management of Atrial Fibrillation by Mohammad Shenasa (Editor); A. John Camm (Editor)Atrial Fibrillation is becoming a twenty-first century epidemic. It remains the most common form of sustained arrhythmia with significant mortality, morbidity and cost to the health care system. It is the most common cause of hospital admissions among all arrhythmias. Its prevalence increaseswith the aging population and is often associated with many other cardiac and noncardiac conditions, most notably congestive heart failure, hypertension, diabetes, and coronary artery disease. Although significant progress in understanding the epidemiology, natural history and mechanism has beenmade, the antiarrhythmic therapy in patients with Atrial Fibrillation is less satisfactory. Management of Atrial Fibrillation: A Practical Approach is the perfect pocket guide for those who care for patients afflicted by Atrial Fibrillation. From the history of the condition and the subsets of patients, to therapeutic and preventive procedures, Management of Atrial Fibrillationcomprehensively covers all aspects in managing this increasingly prevalent disorder. Written by leading authorities in the field with vast experience in practical medicine, the book creates a clinically orientated, evidence based "fast fact" type resource for cardiologists, trainees and relatedhealthcare professionals.
Pocket ECGs for Nurses by Andrew R. Houghton; Alun RoebuckThe ECG is one of the most commonly used investigations in contemporary medicine. Interpretation of the ECG can appear daunting, but it is actually relatively straightforward as long as a systematic approach is taken. Pocket ECGs for Nurses assists with this task by providing a detailed yet readable introduction to ECG interpretation, supplemented by clinical information about how to act based on its findings. The book begins by covering the basics of cardiac anatomy and physiology and how these relate to the ECG. It then guides nurses on how to perform a high-quality ECG recording, interpret it and make sense of common ECG abnormalities. The book also includes a guide to ambulatory and bedside monitoring as well as useful chapter summaries. This pocketbook is an essential reference for the non-specialist who needs to be able to record and perform a basic and safe interpretation of an ECG. Written in plain language with clear explanations, bullet lists and summaries throughout, this handy guide will benefit nurses as well as paramedics and other allied health professionals in recording and reading ECGs.