Hand and wrist > Books and e-books
Oxford Specialist Handbook of Hand Surgery by
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the Oxford Specialist Handbook of Hand Surgery has been broadened to reflect the diverse nature of the speciality, providing more detail on hand therapy and alternatives to hand surgery, whilst maintaining surgical techniques in line withcurrent guidelines. The compact format is designed to work both as a revision guide, with clearly organised chapters and headings throughout, and as an aide-memoire for fine detail such as pathology classifications. Featuring an authoritative list of contributors from hand surgeons and therapists, this new editionreflects the close working relationships between the two disciplines and draws from the knowledge of experts in the field.
Rehabilitation Goal Setting by
Written to provide clinicians, educators, researchers, and students in rehabilitation with a comprehensive overview of the theory, practice, and evidence base of goal setting, this first-of-its-kind reference provides an authoritative, state-of-the-art knowledge of the practice. The authors cover a broad range of different approaches to goal setting, with input from experts from North America, Europe, and Australia. This book is applicable to patients with stroke, traumatic brain injury, neurological disorders, spinal cord injury, and other conditions.
Rehabilitation in Movement Disorders by
Movement disorders affect a growing patient population, but providing comprehensive care is extremely difficult. Several of these conditions are progressive and incurable; the basal ganglia has a complex role in movement control, with many potential malfunctions. This book focuses on rehabilitation approaches that have been developed and utilized internationally in an attempt to minimize impairment and maximize participation amongst these patients. Each chapter is written by movement disorder experts, rehabilitation specialists and health care professionals, giving a broad overview of current interventions and emphasizing the need for interdisciplinary management, focussing on deliverable outcomes. Common conditions such as Parkinson's disease, cerebral palsy, dystonia and Huntington's disease are comprehensively covered. This book gives neurologists, geriatricians and rehabilitation specialists an up-to-date, theoretically-based approach to managing movement disorders related to basal ganglia malfunction. Also valuable for physiotherapists, occupational therapists, speech pathologists, nurses and social workers seeking to develop and plan appropriate interventions.
Plastic Surgery by
EBook. Fully updated to meet the demands of the 21st-century surgeon, Hand and Upper Extremity, Volume 6 of Plastic Surgery, 3rd Edition, provides you with the most current knowledge and techniques hand and upper extremity plastic surgery, allowing you to offer every patient the best possible outcome. Access all the state-of-the-art know-how you need to overcome any challenge you may face and exceed your patients' expectations. Apply the very latest advances in hand and upper extremity plastic surgery and ensure optimal outcomes with evidence-based advice from a diverse collection of world-leading authorities. Purchase this volume individually or own the entire set, with the ability to search across all six volumes online! Master the latest on all aspects of hand surgery - including pediatric and adult conditions - in one comprehensive volume. Access the most up-to-date information on nerve transfers, hand allotransplantation, functional prosthetics, and fracture fixation, presented by the original innovators themselves. Know what to look for and what results you can expect with over 1,700 photographs and illustrations. See how to perform key techniques with 57 surgical videos online. Access the complete, fully searchable contents online, download all the tables and figures, and take advantage of additional content and images at www.expertconsult.com!
Principles of Musculoskeletal Treatment and Management - Volume 2 by
Now in its third edition, this core textbook continues to provide a comprehensive, evidence-enhanced guide to the principles of treatment and management of the musculoskeletal system. Nicola Petty is joined by Kieran Barnard in editing this new edition which also sees an expanded number of specialist clinicians and academics contributing individual chapters. Principles of Musculoskeletal Treatment and Management provides both students and experienced practitioners with an invaluable guide to the principles applied in contemporary musculoskeletal therapy. Provides theory and research knowledge to underpin treatment and management strategies for patients with musculoskeletal conditions Provides a rationale to support clinical decision-making Offers an up-to-date evidence-enhanced approach to patient treatment and management Emphasizes the importance of communication and clinical reasoning, as well as hands-on and rehabilitation skills Brand-new chapter on the principles of communication and its application to clinical reasoning Brand-new chapter on the principles of exercise rehabilitation Highlights the health benefits of some treatment approaches References updated throughout
Tidy's Physiotherapy by
A classic textbook and a student favourite, Tidy's Physiotherapy aims to reflect contemporary practice of physiotherapy and can be used as a quick reference by the physiotherapy undergraduate, for major problems that they may encounter throughout their study, or while on clinical placement. Tidy's Physiotherapy is a resource which charts a range of popular subject areas. It also encourages the student to think about problem-solving and basic decision-making in a practice setting, presenting case studies to consolidate and apply learning. In this fifteenth edition, new chapters have been added and previous chapters withdrawn, continuing its reflection of contemporary education and practice. Chapters have again been written by experts who come from a wide range of clinical and academic backgrounds. The new edition is complemented by an accompanying online ancillary which offers access to over 50 video clips on musculoskeletal tests, massage and exercise and an image bank along with the addition of crosswords and MCQs for self-assessment. Now with new chapters on: Reflection Collaborative health and social care / interprofessional education Clinical leadership Pharmacology Muscle imbalance Sports management Acupuncture in physiotherapy Management of Parkinson's and of older people Neurodynamics Part of the Physiotherapy Essentials series - core textbooks for both students and lecturers! Covers a comprehensive range of clinical, academic and professional subjects Annotated illustrations to simplify learning Definition, Key Point and Weblink boxes Online access to over 50 video clips and 100's of dowloadable images (http://evolve.elsevier.com/Porter/Tidy) Online resources via Evolve Learning with video clips, image bank, crosswords and MCQs! Log on and register at http://evolve.elsevier.com/Porter/Tidy Case studies Additional illustrations
Occupational Therapy and Stroke by
Occupational Therapy and Stroke guides newly qualified occupational therapists (and those new to the field of stroke management) through the complexities of treating people following stroke. It encourages and assists therapists to use their skills in problem solving, building on techniques taught and observed as an undergraduate. Written and edited by practising occupational therapists, the book acknowledges the variety of techniques that may be used in stroke management and the scope of the occupational therapist's role. Chapters span such key topics as early intervention and the theoretical underpinnings of stroke care, as well as the management of motor, sensory, cognitive and perceptual deficits. They are written in a user-friendly style and presented in a form that enables the therapist to review the subject prior to assessment and treatment planning. Complex problems are grouped together for greater clarity. This second edition has been fully revised and updated in line with the WHO ICF model, National Clinical Guidelines and Occupational Therapy standards. It is produced on behalf of the College of Occupational Therapists Specialist Section - Neurological Practice.
Rehabilitation of the Hand and Upper Extremity by
EBook. This is the latest edition of the definitive work on hand therapy, combining information on both surgical and non-surgical methodologies. Contributors to the book include leading hand surgeons and leading authorities in hand therapy. Provide the best patient care and optimal outcomes with trusted guidance from this multidisciplinary, comprehensive resource covering the entire upper extremity, now with increased coverage of wrist and elbow problems. Apply the latest treatments, rehabilitation protocols, and expertise of leading surgeons and therapists to help your patients regain maximum movement after traumatic injuries or to improve limited functionality caused by chronic or acquired conditions. Effectively implement the newest techniques detailed in new and updated chapters on a variety of sports-specific and other acquired injuries, and chronic disorders. Keep up with the latest advances in arthroscopy, imaging, vascular disorders, tendon transfers, fingertip injuries, mobilization techniques, traumatic brachial plexus injuries, and pain management See conditions and treatments as they appear in practice thanks to detailed, full-color design, illustrations, and photographs. Access the full contents online with streaming video of surgical and rehabilitation techniques, downloadable patient handouts, links to Pub Med, and regular updates at www.expertconsult.com. Get a fresh perspective from seven new section editors, as well as an even more geographically diverse set of contributors. The 6th Edition of this classic text combines the expertise of hand surgeons and hand therapists to detail the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and management of hand and upper extremity disorders. This comprehensive resource covers the entire upper extremity, with increased coverage of wrist, elbow and shoulder problems.
Synopsis of Hand Surgery by
Fundamentals of hand surgery in a compact high-yield resource! Hand surgery emerged as a specialty due to advances in treatment of hand injuries incurred during World War II. Synopsis of Hand Surgery by distinguished hand surgeon Dawn LaPorte reflects the approach championed by the late American surgeons Sterling Bunnell and Norman Kirk: multidisciplinary care is key to optimal treatment of bone and soft tissue conditions in the hand and wrist. The book features contributions from an impressive group of hand and upper extremity surgeons and radiologists. Anatomy, surgical approaches, clinical exams, radiographic anatomy, advanced imaging, and electrodynamic studies are introduced in the first five chapters and emphasized throughout, providing a solid foundation. Twenty condition-specific chapters cover a wide array of hand disorders including fractures, arthritis, tendinitis, tendinosis, and injuries, as well as less common pathologies such as Kienbock's Disease, compartment syndrome, tumors, and congenital conditions. The final chapter discusses hand fractures in children. Key Highlights Insightful guidance on necessary evaluation and tests enables accurate diagnosis of common and uncommon hand injuries and conditions Firsthand recommendations on conservative to operative treatment options enhance the ability to achieve optimal results Richly illustrated chapters in an easy-to-read bulleted format augment learning and retention of knowledge This compact book provides a go-to reference for medical students, junior residents in orthopedic and plastic surgery, as well as emergency medicine, family practice, internal medicine, and pediatric physicians. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
Operative Techniques: Hand and Wrist Surgery by
EBook. Perform all the latest procedures and get the best results with the new edition of Operative Techniques: Hand and Wrist Surgery. This compact atlas-style volume provides an efficient review of the scope of hand surgery, including every potential patient scenario, while updated indications and techniques equip you to treat the gamut of upper extremity disorders. Each chapter has been carefully rewritten to provide consistent delivery of the most up-to-date techniques. Enhanced procedural videos, produced and narrated by Dr. Chung himself, help guide the essence and key aspects of an operation and are included in most chapters. Concise format, brief bulleted descriptions, and a user-friendly presentation ensure quick access to the information you need. Includes photos and illustrations demonstrating each technique, while radiographs show presenting problems and post-surgical outcomes. Pearls and pitfalls from the authors allow you to improve your technique and optimize outcomes. Enhanced procedural videos, produced and narrated by Dr. Chung, are included for most chapters. Operative Techniques series uses step-by-step descriptions, illustrations, and videos to provide superior guidance. Places a greater focus on tissue transplantation topics. Presents multiple approaches for the surgical repair of each disorder, ranging from the least to the most invasive procedures. Features updated indications and techniques to treat the gamut of upper extremity disorders. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, surgical videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Access to exclusive eBook figures and images is also provided.
Techniques in Wrist and Hand Arthroscopy by
EBook. For step-by-step, easy-to-follow guidance from an expert in the field, turn to Techniques in Wrist and Hand Arthroscopy, 2nd Edition. Dr. David J. Slutsky describes the utility and applications of wrist and small joint arthroscopy for a variety of clinical conditions. Each chapter contains a large literature review section which provides perspective as to the expected outcomes of any given procedure, in addition to multiple clinical examples. Covers hand and wrist arthroscopy in great detail, helping you enhance your arthroscopic skills in the surgical management of patients with chronic wrist pain, carpal instability, triangular fibrocartilage tears, distal radioulnar joint instability, arthroscopic resection arthroplasty of the trapeziometacarpal and scaphotrapezial joints, arthroscopic partial wrist fusions, and proximal row carpectomy, to name just a few. Offers detailed instruction in the use of arthroscopy as an adjunctive procedure to the open treatment of distal radius fractures, scapholunate ligament reconstruction, perilunate injuries, and more. Includes hundreds of high-quality color photographs. Uses a consistent, templated format so you can find the guidance you need quickly. Provides online access to over 100 videos of clinical case examples and anatomical demonstrations showcasing the application and technique of a variety of procedures. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Green's Operative Hand Surgery, 2-Volume Set by
EBook. Widely recognized as the gold standard text in hand, wrist, and elbow surgery, Green's Operative Hand Surgery, 7th Edition, by Drs. Scott Wolfe, William Pederson, Robert Hotchkiss, Scott Kozin, and Mark Cohen, continues the tradition of excellence both in print and online. High-resolution photos, innovative videos, new expert authors, and more ensure that Green's remains your go-to reference for the most complete, authoritative guidance on the effective surgical and non-surgical management of upper extremity conditions. Well-written, clearly organized, and updated regularly online, it remains the most trusted reference in hand surgery worldwide. Thoroughly revised indications and techniques to treat the full spectrum of upper extremity disorders New approaches to wrist and elbow arthroplasty, new methods for internal fixation, and new options for congenital differences Innovative, high-resolution videos that provide step-by-step guidance on key procedures, and high-resolution color photos throughout A revamped pediatric section that includes recent advances in fracture management and congenital reconstruction 14 new authors that offer fresh perspectives and preferred methods on even your toughest clinical challenges New case-based controversies and unique solutions, plus current views on what works and what does not, based on recent science and outcome measures State-of-the-art coverage of hot topics such as nerve transfers to enhance patient outcomes, elbow fracture management and reconstruction with repair and prosthetic replacement, new techniques in wrist fracture fixation, repair and reconstruction of the scapholunate ligament, management of flexor tendon injury, and much more Complete, updated coverage of the elbow - everything from trauma and arthritis to arthroscopy, reconstruction, and thrower's elbow
Principles of Hand Surgery and Therapy by
EBook. Ideal for hand surgeons, residents in a hand surgery rotation, and therapists interested in a review of surgical principles, Principles of Hand Surgery and Therapy, 3rd Edition, by Drs. Thomas E. Trumble, Ghazi M. Rayan, Mark E. Baratz, Jeffrey E. Budoff, and David J. Slutsky, is a practical source of essential, up-to-date information in this specialized area. This single-volume, highly illustrated manual covers all areas of adult and pediatric hand surgery and therapy, including the elbow. Both in print and online, you'll find state-of-the-art basic science combined with step-by-step techniques and therapeutic protocols, helping you hone your skills and prescribe effective long-term care for every patient. An expanded therapy section with more than 50 diagnosis-specific rehabilitation protocols and more than 100 full-color photographs. New chapters on pediatric fractures; expanded coverage of carpal injuries, including fractures and ligament injuries and perilunate instability; a new chapter on diagnostic and therapeutic arthroscopy for wrist injuries; and expanded treatment of arthritis. A larger video collection, available online, featuring approximately 100 videos that demonstrate step-by-step procedures, including CMC allograft arthroplasty, wrist fusions, total elbow arthroplasty, management of carpal fractures, and rehabilitation techniques. New information on pediatric surgery with detailed surgical images. The latest information on pain management, as well as nerve physiology and nerve transfers. Core knowledge needed for the boards-including tumors, free tissue transfer, and thumb reconstruction. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Emergency Surgery of the Hand by
EBook. The 4th edition of the globally bestselling Chirurgie de la Main is made available to the English-speaking population for the first time in Emergency Surgery of the Hand. The text synthesizes the most current knowledge in hand surgery, emergency, and surgical principles for today's surgeons and fellows. Edited by internationally recognized experts Michel Merle and Gilles Dautel, Emergency Surgery of the Hand includes an abundance of illustrations, photographs, and step-by-step descriptions to ensure the best possible outcomes for each unique patient scenario. Provides coverage of today's hot topics in hand surgery, including free tissue transfer and pedicle flaps, as well as emergency care of infections. Prioritizes surgical techniques that allow rapid return to work. Covers the latest information on surgical principles, relevant anatomy and physiology, surgical techniques, outcomes and rehabilitation. Step-by-step descriptions of surgical procedures are enhanced by crisp, clear surgical photographs and illustrations. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
To borrow any print book contact the library by email or online
Can't find what you are looking for? You can search the library catalogue or ask the library for help
