Spinal > Books and ebooks
Can't find what you are looking for? You can search the library catalogue or ask the library for help.
The Biomechanics of Back Pain by
Authored by experts of international renown, the new edition of The Biomechanics of Back Pain forms a bridge between the latest research and the effective clinical management of patients with back problems. Now published for the first time in full colour, this popular volume now has a bonus website which contains useful PowerPoint presentations, including seminars entitled Back Pain and Forces on the Spine as well as an overview of the Psychosocial Flags Framework. The Biomechanics of Back Pain is essential for all clinicians involved in the care and treatment of patients with back pain, as well as for those studying its causes and methods of prevention. "As more than half the content of this book is of direct relevance to OH professionals, I have no hesitation in recommending that it has a place on our bookshelves." Reviewed by: John Challenor, Oxford Journals Clippings, Occupational Medicine, vol 64, no 7, Date: Oct 2014 Established authoritative text for clinicians, lecturers, researchers and those working in the medico-legal arena Emphasizes the latest perspectives in research and shows how it is now leading to advances in clinical methodology Provides an overview of the best original research - including more than 350 new references - to provide researchers with the latest and most important information relating to back pain Contains over 150 full-colour line artworks and more than 60 photographs Additional chapters devoted to Sensorimotor Control, and Cervical Spine Anatomy and Biomechanics Includes more than 350 new references Now published in full colour with improved page design and navigation Bonus website containing useful PowerPoint presentations, which include seminars entitled Back Pain and Forces on the Spine as well as an overview of the Psychosocial Flags Framework
Cervical Spine Injuries by
Spinal cord injury (SCI), and in particular cervical SCI, remains a devastating and catastrophic event for patients, their families and society, often producing severe and permanent disability. Moreover, the emotional and psychological consequences of coping with a disabling injury can be profound. SCIs are very often permanent, yet potentially preventable. Despite significant medical and technological advances in recent years the overall mortality for spinal injury patients remains largely unchanged. Understanding the epidemiology, aetiology, medical and psychological factors associated with cervical spinal cord injury remains crucial in order to advance our knowledge on the identification of such devastating injuries, their possible prevention and ultimately on how to best manage the widespread physical, social and psychological effects of SCI at an individual and societal level. This book endeavors to describe the epidemiology of cervical spinal cord injury and to summarize some of the primary outcomes associated with this type of injury. We devote chapters to such key topics as: Operative and non-operative outcomes following SCI; whiplash injury; neurological, respiratory, gastrointestinal and urinary complications post cervical SCI and the psychological impact of cervical SCI; among others. This book does not provide an exhaustive background on the area of cervical spinal cord injury but rather compiles key information on the most commonly associated comorbid issues accompanying cervical spinal cord injury and encapsulates it to provide an accessible account of some principal topics relating to this particular type of SCI.
Diagnostic Imaging: Spine by
With constant improvements to MR image quality, it's important to have a resource reflecting the most recent developments. Diagnostic Imaging: Spine, now in its third edition, showcases the latest cutting-edge research from Dr. Jeffrey Ross and his team of experts in the field. Expanding upon the core of the highly popular second edition, this updated reference is fully revised to provide the best spine-related diagnostic support available. Covers the latest advancements in imaging the postoperative spine, including bone morphogenetic protein (BMP) utilization Includes additional genetic information, such as OMIM entry numbers, where appropriate Highlights updates to new classification and grading schemes Hundreds of full-color pathology images are carefully annotated to help pinpoint the most relevant factors New references direct you to additional trustworthy resources Bulleted lists provide guidance through the intricacies of the spine Presents brand new images and cases to keep you at the forefront of your field Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Disorders of the Spinal Cord in Children by
Covering the range of pediatric spinal cord disease, its clinical assessment, appropriate investigation, its medical and neurosurgical management and neuro-rehabilitation. Spinal cord disorders have tended to be approached as adjuncts to disorders of the paediatric brain or peripheral nervous system. This is partly a function of numbers - specifically spinal pathologies being less frequent than those of the brain and the peripheral neuromuscular system, partly a function of the relatively limited investigation techniques available before the advent of MRI and, at least to some degree, it is because the clinical evaluation of the spinal cord in young children is difficult and may be overshadowed by the manifestations of accompanying brain and peripheral neuromuscular symptomatology. It is likely that the role of the cord, in conditions ranging from neonatal neurological injury to shaken impact syndrome and in inflammatory and neurometabolic disorders and beyond, will continue to become more evident over coming years. Readership ∙ Pediatric neurologists ∙ Pediatric neurosurgeons ∙ Pediatric oncologists ∙ Pediatric neuroradiologists and neurophysiologists ∙ Rehabilitation physicians and therapists
Essentials of Spinal Cord Medicine by
"From the first to the last page, this book is so full of information that as a person working in the world of spinal cord injury, I found myself in an unfamiliar situation. Never had I read a book related to my profession that I didn√at have trouble putting down. I√am not saying that such books are boring by any means however, they are not the captivating fictional reads that keep people up late on work nights thinking 'just one more chapter.' Essentials of Spinal Cord Medicine was that type of book for me ... Overall, I thought this book was nothing short of fantastic... it was so full of information that makes me feel more confident as a technologist, and more compassionate as a human. I would highly recommend this for any practitioner working in the field where they may encounter a person with spinal cord injury." -- Donna Jacobs, R. EEG T., CNIM, The Neurodiagnostic Journal This compact text is a practical, concise guide for clinicians involved in the care of patients with spinal cord injuries and disorders. It covers a comprehensive and diverse list of topics encompassing the principles and practice of spinal cord injury care, including basic science fundamentals, traumatic spinal cord injury, non-traumatic myelopathies, physical function and rehabilitation, medical consequences and complications of spinal cord injury, psychosocial and quality of life issues, and systems-based practice. Chapters are consistently formatted for ease of use and are organized under the broad headings of general principles, clinical considerations, and knowledge gaps and emerging concepts, and conclude with a curated list of suggested readings. Within these categories, specifics on underlying pathophysiology and etiology, assessment (examination, testing, differential diagnosis, prognosis, and risk factors) and management (non-pharmacological, medications, surgical procedures, follow-up and monitoring, primary and secondary prevention, and complications), and recent clinical advances and promising research are easily accessed. The book also addresses such quality of life issues as psychological adaptation, sexuality and fertility, vocational training, driving, and exercise, and includes information about systems of care and patient safety as well as ethical considerations. The guide is peppered with useful tables that highlight and reinforce key material. Additionally, √ePractice Pearls√i in selected chapters enhance the guide as a handy go-to reference for clinicians and trainees in multiple disciplines who care for people with spinal cord injuries and disorders. Key Features: A concise, practical manual designed for rapid access to key information on a broad range of topics integral to the practice of spinal cord medicine Covers both traumatic spinal cord injury and non-traumatic disorders and their evaluation, management, medical complications, functional rehabilitation, and quality of life concerns Packed with useful tables to highlight and reinforce key material Formatted consistently with short, reader-friendly paragraphs and clarifying sub-titles "
ISCoS Text Book on Comprehensive Management of Spinal Cord Injuries by
Chief Editor: H S Chhabra, Medical Director & Chief of Spine Services, Indian Spinal Injuries Centre, New Delhi, India.
Maitland's Vertebral Manipulation by
The legacy of Geoff Maitland and his seminal work, Vertebral Manipulation, continues in this eighth edition, with Elly Hengeveld and Kevin Banks leading an international team of experts who demonstrate how to manage vertebral neuromusculoskeletal disorders using the principles and practice of the Maitland Concept. Together, they ensure the heart of the Concept beats on by promoting collaborative decision-making with the patient at centre and emphasizing the art and science of observation, listening, palpation and movement skills. A key feature of the new edition focuses on a more evidence-based and analytical view of the role of mobilization and manipulation in clinical practice The authors have written in a way that reflects their application of the Maitland Concept and how they have integrated techniques in the light of advancement in professional knowledge. Each chapter stands alone as a ''master class''. The text is systematically arranged focusing on detailed assessment, clinical reasoning and re-assessment to determine the physical dysfunction and efficacy of manipulative physiotherapy techniques, while also advocating continuous communication and interaction. Techniques of passive mobilization are also described, specifically designed around the individual patient''s condition. All the chapters are written from a clinical perspective and review the evidence which informs how to deal with and manage spinal and pelvic pain as they present to the practitioner. Furthermore, each vertebral region (cervical, thoracic, lumbar, sacroiliac/pelvic) is considered from the point of view of best practice in analysing and hypothesising subjective data, examination, treatment and management of spinal pain conditions. Brand new to the eighth edition is the addition of a companion website - Maitland''s Manipulation eResources (www.maitlandsresources.com) - providing access to a range of valuable learning materials which include videos, MCQs, interactive case studies, research links, and bonus chapters "This text would be an excellent resource to any practising physiotherapist or health professional dealing with spinal disorders. It would enhance the manual skills and clinical reasoning of any therapist regardless of their experience. It is concise, clear to follow and covers each spinal section extensively with evidence-based practise and thought stimulating case studies and examples throughout." Reviewed by: Tracy Ward, MCSP, BSc (HONS), MSc, Senior Physiotherapist and Clinical Pilates Specialist, BMI Healthcare Albyn Hospital, Aberdeen, Date: Oct 14 "Drawing on a wide spectrum of literature and expert guest authors to explain the reasoning behind treatment techniques this edition takes the reader on a wonderful clinical journey way beyond the Maitland concept." Reviewed by: Tobias Bremer Date: 24/07/2014 World-leading experts provide evidence relating the Maitland Concept to clinical practice Evidence supporting practice Covers both subjective and physical examination Best practice management using mobilization and manipulation Case studies - how and when to integrate the Maitland Concept into clinical practice Chapter-based learning outcomes, keywords and glossaries Companion website - Maitland''s Manipulation eResources (http://www.maitlandsresources.com) Expert perspectives and supporting evidence Case studies Companion website - www.maitlandsresources.com - containing: Video Bank of over 480 video clips showing examination and treatment techniques Image Bank of over 1,000 illustrations Interactive case studies Over 200 MCQs Bonus chapters on additional principles and techniques of examination / treatment Weblink references to abstracts
Manual Physical Therapy of the Spine by
Master the techniques and problem-solving skills needed to manage spinal and TMJ disorders! Manual Physical Therapy of the Spine, 2nd Edition provides guidelines to manipulation, manual physical therapy examination, and treatment procedures of the spine and temporomandibular joint. Informed by evidence-based research, this text offers detailed instructions for reaching an accurate diagnosis and developing a plan of care. And to support the descriptions and photos in the book, over 200 videos on a companion website demonstrate spinal examination and manipulation procedures. Written by well-known spinal manipulation expert Kenneth Olson, this resource provides the complete information you need to make sound decisions during clinical interventions. Descriptions of manual therapy techniques include evidence-based coverage of the examination and treatment of spine and TMJ disorders, along with discussions of alternative treatment methods and potential adverse effects and contraindications to manipulation. Guidelines for completing a comprehensive spinal examination include medical screening, the patient interview, disability assessment, and tests and measures, along with an evaluation of the examination findings and the principles involved in arriving at a diagnosis and plan of care. Impairment-based manual physical therapy approach includes a review of the evidence to support its use to evaluate and treat spinal and TMJ conditions. Case studies demonstrate the clinical reasoning used in manual physical therapy. Guide to Physical Therapist Practice terminology is incorporated throughout the book, using accepted terms familiar in physical therapy settings. Expert author Ken Olson is a highly respected authority on the subject of spinal manipulation in physical therapy. Video icons in the book indicate the procedures demonstrated with online videos. A clear, consistent format for explaining techniques makes this reference easy to use in the clinical setting. Spiral binding allows the text to lay open for ease of use while on the job. NEW! Coverage of emerging topics includes soft tissue assessment, mobilization, dry needling, myofascial pain and trigger points, thoracic outlet syndrome, cervicogenic dizziness, and differentiation of headache types, plus expanded coverage of examination procedures and psychologically informed management strategies for chronic low back pain. 120 NEW video clips are added to the companion website - over 200 videos in total provide unique 3-dimensional views of exam and manipulation techniques, showing each procedure step by step from frontal, lateral, and cranial perspectives. NEW! Full-color design and photographs show essential concepts and procedures from multiple angles, illustrating hand and body placement and direction of force. UPDATED evidence-based research provides the latest thinking on manual therapy of the spine.
Master Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery: the Spine by
Now in its Third Edition, this popular volume in the Master Techniques in Orthopaedic Surgery Series combines the step-by-step procedural guidance that readers have come to trust with new and updated discussions of specific procedures. The text,,s how-to format helps readers face the challenges of spinal surgery with confidence.
Physical Examination of the Spine and Extremities by
This clear, concise manual fills the growing need for a text covering the process of physical examination of the spine and extremities. Serving students and clinicians as a functional guidebook, this text incorporates three important features: a tight consistent organization, an abundance of constructive illustrations, and an effective teaching method.
The Physiology of Exercise in Spinal Cord Injury by
Every year, around the world, between 250,000 and 500,000 people suffer a spinal cord injury (SCI). Those with an SCI are two to five times more likely to die prematurely than people without a spinal cord injury, with worse survival rates in low- and middle-income countries. Dynamic aerobic requires integrated physiologic responses across the musculoskeletal, cardiovascular, autonomic, pulmonary, thermoregulatory, and immunologic systems. Moreover, regular aerobic exercise beneficially impacts these same systems, reducing the risk for a range of diseases and maladies. This book will present comprehensive information on the unique physiologic effects of SCI and the potential role of exercise in treating and mitigating these effects. In addition, it will incorporate work from scientists across a number of disciplines and have contributors at multiple levels of investigation and across physiologic systems. Furthermore, SCI can be considered an accelerated form of aging due to the severely restricted physical inactivity imposed, usually at an early age. Therefore, the information presented may have a broader importance to the physiology of aging as it relates to inactivity. Lastly, the need for certain levels of regular aerobic exercise to engender adaptations beneficial to health is not altered by the burden of an SCI. Indeed, the amounts of exercise necessary may be even greater than the able-bodied due to 'passive' ambulation. This book will also address the potential health benefits for those with an SCI that can be realized if a sufficient exercise stimulus is provided.
Restorative Neurology of Spinal Cord Injury by
Following injury or disease, neural circuitry can be altered to varying degrees leading to highly individualized characteristics that may or may not resemble original function. In addition, lost or partially damaged circuits and the effects of biological recovery processes coupled with learnedcompensatory strategies create a new neuroanatomy with capabilities that are often not functional or may interfere with daily life. To date, the majority of approaches used to treat neurological dysfunction have focused on the replacement of lost or damaged function, usually through the suppressionof surviving neural activity and the application of mechanical assistive devices. Restorative Neurology of Spinal Cord Injury offers a different and novel approach. Focusing on the spinal cord and its role in motor control, the book details the clinical and neurophysiological assessment process and methods developed throughout the past half century by basic and clinical scientists. Then, through the use of specialized clinical and neurophysiological testingmethods, conduction and processing performed within the surviving neural circuitry is examined and characterized in detail. Based on the results of such assessment, treatment strategies, also described in this book, are applied to augment, rather than replace, the performance of surviving neuralcircuitry and improve the functional capacity of people who have experienced injury to their spinal cords.
Spinal Cord Injuries by
From a hospital admittance to discharge to outpatient rehabilitation, Spinal Cord Injuries addresses the wide spectrum of rehabilitation interventions and administrative and clinical issues specific to patients with spinal cord injuries. Comprehensive coverage includes costs, life expectancies, acute care, respiratory care, documentation, goal setting, clinical treatment, complications, and activities of daily living associated with spinal cord patients. In addition to physical therapy interventions and family education components, this resource includes content on incidence, etiology, diagnosis, and clinical features of spinal cord injury. Case Studies with clinical application thinking exercises help you apply knowledge from the book to real life situations. Thoroughly referenced, evidence-based content provides the best evidence for treatment based on the most current research. Tables and boxes throughout each chapter organize and summarize important information for quick reference. Clinical Note boxes provide at-a-glance access to helpful tips. Over 500 clinical photos, line drawings, radiographs, and more bring important concepts to life. Highly respected experts in spinal cord injury rehabilitation, editors Sue Ann Sisto, Erica Druin, and Martha Sliwinski, provide authoritative guidance on the foundations and principles of practice for spinal cord injury. Companion DVD includes video clips of the techniques described throughout the book that demonstrate how to apply key concepts to practice.
Spinal Cord Injuries by
Spinal cord injury (SCI) results from damage to the spinal cord due to trauma or disease and leads to partial or complete paralysis. Following SCI, physiological and lifestyle changes can lead to poor health outcomes. However, advances in injury stabilisation, medical treatment and rehabilitation have led to an increase in life expectancy. In this book, the authors present current research on the causes, risk factors and management of spinal cord injury. Topics include pain management following spinal cord injury; exercise training and its relation to slow bone loss in SCI; palliative and therapeutic strategies for SCI; NO-cGMP signalling in bulbospinal respiratory pathway after cervical spinal cord injury; and posterior pedicle screw fixation for thoracolumbar burst fractures.
Spinal Cord Injuries: Management and Rehabilitation by
An injury caused to the spinal cord can result in permanent damage. These injuries are either traumatic or nontraumatic. The symptoms of spinal cord injuries vary and depend on the area of the injury. They can cause severe complications like respiratory problems, paralysis and neurogenic shock. This book contains some path-breaking studies in the management of spinal cord injuries. It strives to provide a fair idea about the subject and to help develop a better understanding of the latest advances within this field. The readers would gain knowledge that would broaden their perspective about spinal cord injuries, their management and related rehabilitation techniques.
Spinal Cord Injury in the Child and Young Adult by
As compared to adult-onset spinal cord injury (SCI), individuals with childhood-onset SCI are unique in several ways. First, as a result of their younger age at injury and longer lifespan, individuals with pediatric-onset SCI are particularly susceptible to long-term complications related to a sedentary lifestyle, such as cardiovascular disease, and overuse syndromes, such as upper extremity pain. Second, they experience complications, such as scoliosis and hip dysplasia, which may affect them both during childhood and as adults. Persons with pediatric-onset SCI also have unique developmental needs. They experience the typical ongoing challenges of each developmental stage (e.g., childhood, adolescence) as well as changes owing to their SCI. Finally, individuals with pediatric-onset SCI face health system discontinuities, such as the transition from pediatric medical care to adult care and the transition from parent-controlled health care to self-management. This book is intended for clinicians of all disciplines who may only occasionally care for youth with SCI to those who specialize in SCI as well as clinical and basic researchers in the SCI field. Topics covered include new developments in pediatric SCI research, current standards for optimal care, areas lacking scientific evidence, and recommendations for clinical practice and future research.
Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation by
One of the world's leading authorities in spinal cord injury, and a participant in the Human Brain Project brings you an evidenced-based guide to the state-of-the-art in spinal cord rehabilitation. She has assembled an expert team of clinicians, each with expertise in the content areas they address. Their work encompasses all of the new scientific knowledge and technological advances practitioners need to know to determine the most effective rehabilitation interventions for each patient and to attain maximum restoration of function in individuals with SCI.
Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation, an Issue of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Clinics of North America by
This issue includes a range of topics in SCI from acute neuroprotection to chronic complications, focusing on some of the technological advances that have informed specific areas.
Spinal Cord Medicine by
Spinal Cord Medicine is the perfect resource for the medical specialist treating persons with spinal cord injuries. This comprehensive and practical resource provides detail about all aspects of spinal cord injury and disease. The initial seven chapters present the history, anatomy, imaging, epidemiology, and general acute management of spinal cord injury. The next eleven chapters deal with medical aspects of spinal cord damage, such as pulmonary management and the neurogenic bladder. Chapters on rehabilitation are followed by nine chapters dealing with diseases that cause non-traumatic spinal cord injury. A comprehensive imaging chapter is included with 30 figures which provide the reader with an excellent resource to understand the complex issues of imaging the spine and spinal cord. Key chapters discuss the consequences of spinal cord injury and the many approaches that can help patients return to the fullest possible participation in life. Not only is there a discussion of recreational and therapeutic exercise, but also an entire chapter is devoted to the assessment of a patient's ability to drive. The thorough discussion on the anatomy and mechanics of the spine include detailed drawings and postmortem specimens which clearly illustrate the critical anatomical components of spinal integrity and the ways in which spinal stability can be compromised by trauma or disease.
Spinal Cord Medicine by
Spinal cord injuries affect the spinal cord causing damage that may be temporary or permanent. Total loss of muscle function, paralysis, paraplegia and other processes such as respiratory rate and pupillary response are some of the outcomes of spinal cord injuries. This book elucidates the concepts and innovative models around prospective developments with respect to spinal cord injury medicine. Those with an interest in this field would find this book helpful.
Spine and Spinal Cord Trauma by
Representing the collective efforts of a multinational, multidisciplinary panel of spine and spinal cord trauma masters, this beautifully illustrated evidence-based textbook does more than provide multiple treatment options -- it offers unique access to insights from recognized spine experts and a thoughtful yet practical review of the most relevant literature and clinical evidence available in the field today. Each chapter centers on pertinent questions and objective reviews of state-of-the-art procedures that guide readers from an evaluation of the evidence through practical recommendations they can easily apply to their own practices. Features: Succinct outline format -- easy to read and reference 138 detailed evidentiary tables appear throughout the text An innovative new classification system for spine trauma developed by The Spine Trauma Study Group, composed of 50 internationally recognized spine experts High-quality radiographs and full-color drawings and photographs complement the text Practical recommendations for the treatment of many common spinal injuries, including odontoid fractures, central cord injuries, and thoraco-lumbar flexion distraction injuries --in-depth information on everything from intensive care to rehabilitation An accompanying DVD contains 15 narrated videos -- over one hour of footage -- of actual procedures by the authors Spine and Spinal Cord Trauma: Evidence-Based Management is an invaluable reference for orthopaedic surgeons, neurosurgeons, residents and fellows in those specialties, and allied health professionals who care for spine injury patients.
Spine and Spinal Orthoses by
Orthosis has emerged as a promising way of treating spinal disorders in recent years. There have been few publications, however, on the orthotic management of spinal conditions. Spine and Spinal Orthosis is a compilation of anatomy, biomechanics, pathological conditions of spine and their orthotic management. This handbook describes the complicated aspects of orthotic management of spinal disorders in a concise and comprehensible manner. Essential, evidence based guidelines on orthotic and prosthetic prescription are also provided. Spine and Spinal Orthosis also includes 136 illustrations and a description of the pathological conditions of the spine. Spine and Spinal Orthosis will assist clinicians, rehabilitation medicine consultants and orthopaedic surgeons in choosing the method of orthotic management, most suitable for their patients. Key Points Concise guide to emerging treatment for spinal disorders Includes chapters on anatomy, biomechanics of spine, spinal disorders and checkout procedures 136 illustrations
Topics in Spinal Cord Injury Medicine by
Fifty years ago, people with spinal cord injuries lived only about two years. These days, they can expect close to an average life expectancy. The spinal cord injured are now viewed as physically disabled but healthy people with a productive future in society. This issue of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation includes important chapters for healthcare providers to help patients obtain this level of productivity, with chapters on strategies for recovery, technology, wheelchairs and assistive devices, chronic pain and depression and even health and fitness.
The very alternative guide to spinal cord injury by
What have rabbits, t-shirts and tax bills got to do with spinal cord injury? The Very Alternative Guide to Spinal Cord Injury aims to answer these and many other questions in a way which is unique and different to any other book you've ever seen. Out go complicated medical texts and dull as dishwater hospital booklets. Instead, we get something bright, eye-catching, funny and even sarcastic. You really won't find a book on spinal cord injury like it anywhere. Combining first-hand experience, health information and a ground breaking visual approach, this guide has been written from the point of view of those who have been through it. The book breaks conventions by using humour to tackle issues that are never easy to discuss. Aimed at those with a spinal injury it is also written to support family and friends. Medical professionals will also find it is an invaluable tool for communicating issues related to spinal injury.
Operative Techniques: Spine Surgery by
Focusing solely on must-know procedures, Operative Techniques: Spine Surgery, 3rd Edition by Drs. Alexander R. Vaccaro and Eli Baron, offers a highly visual, step-by-step approach to the latest techniques in the field. Thorough updates keep you current with recent changes in spine surgery, and new contributors bring a fresh perspective to this rapidly-changing specialty. Part of the popular Operative Techniques series, this practical reference focuses on individual procedures, each presented in an easy-to-follow format for quick reference. Step-by-step intraoperative photos depict each technique, and high-quality radiographs show presenting problems and post-surgical outcomes. Surgical videos available online demonstrate how to perform state-of-the-art procedures. Clean design layout features brief, bulleted descriptions, clinical pearls, and just the right amount of relevant science. Ideal for orthopaedic and neurosurgery residents, fellows, and practicing surgeons. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Updated coverage includes hybrid surgery, coflex fusion, and modifications to the lateral transosseous approach.
Surgical Anatomy and Techniques to the Spine by
Featuring an expanded focus on in-demand endoscopic and minimally invasive spine procedures, Surgical Anatomy and Techniques to the Spine, 2nd Edition pairs new anatomic photographs and radiographic images with expertly rendered color illustrations and clear, step-by-step descriptions to help you effectively perform all of the latest and most effective spine surgery techniques. A multidisciplinary approach makes this medical reference book relevant and informative to all surgeons regardless of their specialty or level of surgical experience with the spine. Proceed with confidence. An atlas-style format featuring clear, concise, step-by-step descriptions of the anatomy and procedures along with clinical hints and pearls, tables, and management algorithms provideing swift answers and trusted guidance. Sharpen your surgical acumen with a deeper understanding of the anatomy of the surgical target and related anatomy. Comprehensive information on cervical, cervical/thoracic, thoracic/lumbar, lumbar spine, lumbar/pelvis, and other surgical locations ensures the best approaches to spine surgery and results. Understand the spine from all angles with multiple-viewpoint, full-color photographs, and illustrations. Master surgical anatomy of the spine and the latest minimally invasive techniques. Sweeping revisions and updates-including 22 new chapters-provide new and expanded coverage of spine surgery procedures and topics such as surgical management in gunshot wound to the spine, vertebroplasty, and kyphoplasty. Visualize every step of each procedure thanks to new anatomic photographs and radiographic images, corresponding with expertly rendered illustrations which more in-depth than ever before. Access the entire text and illustrations online, fully searchable, at Expert Consult. With over 60 additional contributors.
Benzel's Spine Surgery by
In the latest edition of Benzel's Spine Surgery, renowned neurosurgery authority Dr. Edward C. Benzel, along with new editor Dr. Michael P. Steinmetz, deliver the most up-to-date information available on every aspect of spine surgery. Improved visuals and over 100 brand-new illustrations enhance your understanding of the text, while 26 new chapters cover today's hot topics in the field. A must-have resource for every neurosurgeon and orthopedic spine surgeon, Benzel's Spine Surgery provides the expert, step-by-step guidance required for successful surgical outcomes. Glean essential, up-to-date information in one comprehensive reference that explores the full spectrum of techniques used in spine surgery. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Covers today's hot topics in spine surgery, such as pelvic parameters in planning for lumbar fusion; minimally invasive strategies for the treatment of tumors and trauma of the spine; and biologics and stem cells. A total of 18 intraoperative videos allow you to hone your skills and techniques. New editor Michael P. Steinmetz brings fresh insights and improvements to the text. Features the addition of 26 chapters, including: -Biologics in Spine Fusion Surgery -Endoscopic and Transnasal Approaches to the Craniocervical Junction -Cellular Injection Techniques for Discogenic Pain -Minimally Invasive Techniques for Thoracolumbar Deformity -Spinal Cord Herniation and Spontaneous Cerebrospinal Fluid Leak -MIS Versus Open Spine Surgery Extensive revisions to many of the existing chapters present all of the most up-to-date information available on every aspect of spine surgery. Improved visuals and over 100 brand-new illustrations enhance learning and retention.
Textbook of the Cervical Spine by
Authored by a multi-disciplinary team that includes orthopedists and neurosurgeons, Textbook of the Cervical Spine is a practical, clinically focused medical reference for treating patients with the full range of cervical spine disorders. From degenerative spine conditions and inflammation, to trauma and infections, it guides today's spine surgeons, orthopaedic surgeons, neurosurgeons and residents through state-of-the art surgical and fixation techniques, today's emerging technologies, and possible complications. "I assure you this textbook is beneficial for both specialists and residents." Foreword by: Shin-ichi Kikuchi President of Fukushima Medical University, Feb 2015 "Drs. Shen, Samartzis, and Fessler have produced an outstanding textbook that is relevant for cervical spine surgeons all over the world." Foreword by: K. Daniel Riew, Mildred B. Simon Distinguished Professor of Orthopedic Surgery, Feb 2015 "This textbook is a valuable addition to spine literature, and I would definitely recommend it." Foreword by: Madjid Samii, Founder and President International Neuroscience Institute, Feb 2015 Accurately handle complex situations with image-guided techniques for the management of cervical spine pathology, as well as helpful information on patient management and surgical decision making. Stay up to date on hot topics with recent case studies that orient you toward important clinical information in the field. Quickly find the information you need with succinct chapters that focus on highlights, key points, tips, and tricks. Access the full text online at Expert Consult.
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Nervous System, Volume 7, Part II - Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems by
Spinal Cord and Peripheral Motor and Sensory Systems, Part 2 of The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Nervous System, 2nd Edition, provides a highly visual overview of the anatomy, pathology, and major clinical syndromes of the nervous system, from cranial nerves and neuro-ophthalmology to spinal cord, neuropathies, autonomic nervous system, pain physiology, and neuromuscular disorders. This spectacularly illustrated volume in the masterwork known as the (CIBA) Netter "Green Books" has been expanded and revised by Drs. H. Royden Jones, Jr., Ted M. Burns, Michael J. Aminoff, Scott L. Pomeroy to mirror the many exciting advances in neurologic medicine - offering rich insights into neuroanatomy, neurophysiology, molecular biology, pathology, and various clinical presentations. "Netter's has always set the Rolls-Royce standard in understanding of clinical anatomy and pathophysiology of disease process, particularly of nervous system. Over 290 pages and with the use of sharp, concise text, illustrations and correlation with up to date imaging techniques, including spinal cord and cranial and peripheral nerve disorders. It is well worth a read." Reviewed by:Dr Manesh Bhojak, Consultant Neuroradiologist, Liverpool Date: July 2014 Get complete, integrated visual guidance on the cranial nerves, spinal cord and peripheral motor and sensory systems with thorough, richly illustrated coverage. Quickly understand complex topics thanks to a concise text-atlas format that provides a context bridge between primary and specialized medicine. Clearly visualize how core concepts of anatomy, physiology, and other basic sciences correlate across disciplines. Benefit from matchless Netter illustrations that offer precision, clarity, detail and realism as they provide a visual approach to the clinical presentation and care of the patient. Gain a rich clinical view of all aspects of the cranial nerves, spinal cord and peripheral motor sensory systems in one comprehensive volume, conveyed through beautiful illustrations as well as up-to-date neuro-radiologic images. Clearly see the connection between basic science and clinical practice with an integrated overview of normal structure and function as it relates to neuro-pathologic conditions. Grasp current clinical concepts regarding the many aspects of adult and child neurologic medicine captured in classic Netter illustrations, as well as new illustrations created specifically for this volume by artist-physician Carlos Machado, MD, and others working in the Netter style.
The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Musculoskeletal System, Volume 6, Part II - Spine and Lower Limb by
The Lower Limb and Spine, Part 2 of The Netter Collection of Medical Illustrations: Musculoskeletal System, 2nd Edition, provides a highly visual guide to the spine and lower extremity, from basic science and anatomy to orthopaedics and rheumatology. This spectacularly illustrated volume in the masterwork known as the (CIBA) "Green Books" has been expanded and revised by Dr. Joseph Iannotti, Dr. Richard Parker, and other experts from the Cleveland Clinic to mirror the many exciting advances in musculoskeletal medicine and imaging - offering rich insights into the anatomy, physiology, and clinical conditions of the spine; pelvis, hip, and thigh; knee; lower leg; and ankle and foot. Get complete, integrated visual guidance on the lower extremity and spine with thorough, richly illustrated coverage. Quickly understand complex topics thanks to a concise text-atlas format that provides a context bridge between primary and specialized medicine. Clearly visualize how core concepts of anatomy, physiology, and other basic sciences correlate across disciplines. Benefit from matchless Netter illustrations that offer precision, clarity, detail and realism as they provide a visual approach to the clinical presentation and care of the patient. Gain a rich clinical view of all aspects of the spine; pelvis, hip, and thigh; knee; lower leg; and ankle and foot in one comprehensive volume, conveyed through beautiful illustrations as well as up-to-date radiologic and laparoscopic images. Benefit from the expertise of Drs. Joseph Iannotti, Richard Parker, and esteemed colleagues from the Cleveland Clinic, who clarify and expand on the illustrated concepts. Clearly see the connection between basic science and clinical practice with an integrated overview of normal structure and function as it relates to pathologic conditions. See current clinical concepts in orthopaedics and rheumatology captured in classic Netter illustrations, as well as new illustrations created specifically for this volume by artist-physician Carlos Machado, MD, and others working in the Netter style.
Quantitative MRI of the Spinal Cord by
Quantitative MRI of the Spinal Cord is the first book focused on quantitative MRI techniques with specific application to the human spinal cord. This work includes coverage of diffusion-weighted imaging, magnetization transfer imaging, relaxometry, functional MRI, and spectroscopy. Although these methods have been successfully used in the brain for the past 20 years, their application in the spinal cord remains problematic due to important acquisition challenges (such as small cross-sectional size, motion, and susceptibility artifacts). To date, there is no consensus on how to apply these techniques; this book reviews and synthesizes state-of-the-art methods so users can successfully apply them to the spinal cord. Quantitative MRI of the Spinal Cord introduces the theory behind each quantitative technique, reviews each theory's applications in the human spinal cord and describes its pros and cons, and suggests a simple protocol for applying each quantitative technique to the spinal cord. Chapters authored by international experts in the field of MRI of the spinal cord Contains "cooking recipes"-examples of imaging parameters for each quantitative technique-designed to aid researchers and clinicians in using them in practice Ideal for clinical settings
Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures by
Give your patients the non-surgical spine pain relief they need with help from the Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures by Dr. Michael Bruce Furman. This medical reference book features a highly visual atlas format that shows you exactly how to safely and efficiently perform each technique step-by-step. A unique, systematic, safe, and efficient approach makes Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures your go-to resource for spine pain relief for your patients. The highly visual format shows you exactly how to perform each technique, highlighting imaging pearls and emphasizing optimal and suboptimal imaging. Updated content includes ultrasound techniques and procedures for "spine mimickers," including hip and shoulder image-guided procedures, keeping you on the cutting edge of contemporary spine pain-relief methods. Safely and efficiently relieve your patients' pain with consistent, easy-to-follow chapters that guide you through each technique. Presents an algorithmic, image-guided approach for each technique: trajectory view (demonstrates fluoroscopic "setup"); multiplanarconfirmation views (AP, lateral, oblique); and "safety view" (what should be avoided during injection), along with optimal and suboptimal contrast patterns. Special chapters on Needle Techniques, Procedural Safety, Fluoroscopic and Ultrasound Imaging Pearls, Radiation Safety, and L5-S1 Disc Access provide additional visual instruction. View drawings of radiopaque landmarks and key radiolucent anatomy that cannot be viewed fluoroscopically. Videos including procedural "set-up" and optimal and suboptimal constrast flow are available in the Expert Consult eBook version. Includes new unique diagrams demonstrating cervical, thoracic and lumbar radiofrequency probe placement and treatment zones on multiplanar views, as well as new unique tables and examples differentiating between optimal and suboptimal epidural contrast flow Features new coverage of ultrasound techniques, as well as new presentation of fluoroscopic and ultrasound guided procedures for "spine masqueraders" such as the hip and shoulder. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to access and search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Imaging of the Spine by
Imaging of the Spine-an exhaustive, full-color reference-combines the ease of use of an atlas with the comprehensive coverage of a definitive reference work, in print and online. Renowned experts Drs. Thomas P. Naidich, Mauricio Castillo, Charles Raybaud, James G. Smirniotopoulos, Soonmee Cha, and Spyros Kollias cover every aspect of spine imaging, including the latest diagnostic modalities, interventional techniques, and image-guided procedures through over 1300 digital quality illustrations. Access the fully searchable text online at expertconsult.com, with downloadable images. View 1300 digital quality images of both radiographic images and cutting edge modalities-MR, multislice CT, ultrasonography, and nuclear medicine. Consult the expertise of a diverse group of experts from around the globe on the imaging of the spine. Tap into comprehensive coverage that includes diagnostic and therapeutic options, with an emphasis on cost-effective imaging. Find information quickly and easily thanks to consistent and tightly focused chapters, a full color design, and key points boxes.
