Midwifery > Books and ebooks
Can't find what you are looking for? You can search the library catalogue or ask the library for help.
Midwifery Essentials: Basics by
The second edition of the popular Midwifery Essentials series continues to help readers understand and master a range of core issues safely and with confidence! Written by leading midwifery academics, each book in the series provides a user-friendly source of information which has been fully updated throughout to reflect the latest evidence-base for current practice. Now with an improved design to make learning as easy as possible, each paperback in the series focuses on the importance of communication and contemporary women-centred care and presents helpful 'scenarios' to encourage debate and reflection. Special features include: ?Helpful 'jigsaw' approach enables readers explore specific topics from a variety of perspectives e.g. effective communication, team working and promotes health. ?Explains the professional and legal issues surrounding current practice ?Chapters designed to be read as a 'standalone' or in succession ?Makes reference to the latest national and international guidelines ?Embraces the principles of 'Better Births' The Midwifery Essentials series is ideal for all midwives - whether qualified or in training - and is also helpful to nurses and HCAs working in the maternity environment.
Midwifery Essentials: Labour by
The second edition of the popular Midwifery Essentials series continues to help readers understand and master a range of core issues safely and with confidence! Written by leading midwifery academics, each book in the series provides a user-friendly source of information which has been fully updated throughout to reflect the latest evidence-base for current practice. Now with an improved design to make learning as easy as possible, each paperback in the series focuses on the importance of communication and contemporary women-centred care and presents helpful 'scenarios' to encourage debate and reflection. Special features include: ?Helpful 'jigsaw' approach enables readers explore specific topics from a variety of perspectives e.g. effective communication, team working and promotes health. ?Explains the professional and legal issues surrounding current practice ?Chapters designed to be read as a 'standalone' or in succession ?Makes reference to the latest national and international guidelines ?Embraces the principles of 'Better Births' The Midwifery Essentials series is ideal for all midwives - whether qualified or in training - and is also helpful to nurses and HCAs working in the maternity environment.
Myles Textbook for Midwives by
Written by midwives for midwives, Myles Textbook for Midwives has been the seminal textbook of midwifery for over 60 years. It offers comprehensive coverage of topics fundamental to 21st midwifery practice. Co-edited for the second time, by internationally renowned midwife educationalists, Professor Jayne E Marshall and Maureen D Raynor from the United Kingdom with a team of contributors from across the midwifery community it retains its clear, accessible writing style. Most chapters provide useful case studies, websites of key organisations and charities for individuals to access further information. Reflective questions at the end of each chapter as well as annotated further reading aid reflective learning and stimulate discussions relating to continuing professional development. The book covers key frameworks that govern midwifery practice, exploring ethical and legal frameworks that are essential to every accountable, autonomous, professional midwife. Includes employer-led models of supervision, vital elements of leadership and clinical governance that supports the provision of high quality maternity services and standards of midwifery practice. The concept of resilience is introduced for the reader to contemplate their personal contribution in creating an environment that is conducive to protecting the wellbeing of themselves and colleagues within the workplace. The text covers the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, highlighting the importance of midwives as global citizens with common goals, and together they form a strong global community prepared to challenge social inequalities and take action to help end extreme poverty. Covers designing and implementing high quality midwifery care using evidence, policy and models of care. Highlights why a holistic and evidence-informed approach is necessary to achieve effective care for all. Working examples will help the reader to think critically about their own practice. For this edition several new chapters are introduced covering concealed pregnancy, fear of childbirth (tocophobia), care of the acutely unwell woman and end of life issues including rights of the fetus/neonate and ethical considerations.
Obstetrics and Gynaecology by
Praise for the previous edition: '...this textbook is a useful resource for medical students ... it will provide them with the basic information they need to survive clinics and to pass exams ... Clear, concise and colourful; perfect for easy learning and revision' - Times Higher Education Obstetrics and Gynaecology by Impey and Child continues to be an invaluable and authoritative resource for healthcare and medical students. This comprehensive guide provides the perfect level of detail on history and examination, investigations and diagnosis, as well as common diseases, abnormalities, and complications in gynaecology and obstetrics. Fully updated in accordance with NICE and other national guidelines, this fifth edition now includes: New sections on FGM and influenza Expanded areas in medical disorders in pregnancy and mental illness Improvements to the popular 'management' section along with a new section on sepsis Colour coded sections on obstetrics and gynaecology for ease of use This new edition of Obstetrics and Gynaecology will be an indispensable support to help not only students to revise for exams, especially OSCEs, but also healthcare practitioners and practising doctors to structure their knowledge and improve their practice.
Creasy and Resnik's Maternal-Fetal Medicine: Principles and Practice by 
Evidence-Based care for breastfeeding mothers by 
Fanaroff and Martin's neonatal-perinatal medicine : diseases of the fetus and infant by 
The Midwife's Labour and Birth Handbook by 
