LibGuides: Junior doctors: Journals

Spotlight on...

BMJ Case Reports
You can access full text case reports with your NHSOpen Athens account.

The Trust also has an institutional code so you can submit a case study for publication free of charge. Contact the library for more details.

Athens accounts

What is an Athens account? A username and password that gives you access to a range of online databases and full text resources

Why have one? Access online resources 24/7 from work, home, or on mobile devices

What can I access with it? View our full list of online resources

I have a question about my account Contact the library

Finding full text journals

Using Browzine

Browse the complete list of journals or browse by subject including nursing and allied health, pharmacology, medical specialties, health service administration and physical therapy/rehabilitation.

Use Browzine to:

Quickly locate a journal and browse the contents
Create your personalised online collection of favourite journals
Set up alerts for new articles published by your favourite journals
Bookmark your top articles to save for future reference
If the Library and Knowledge Service does not subscribe to a journal, you can request an article directly within Browzine
Access and read journals on your mobile device using the app

If prompted select Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust or GPs and Practice staff in Buckinghamshire as your organisation.

You may need to login with your NHS OpenAthens account to access full text papers.

To set up personalised journal shelves and bookmark articles, create a personal account within Browzine.

LibKey Nomad

Get fast, seamless access to full text articles as you do online research and come across articles on publisher websites, PubMed, Wikipedia etc.

Libkey Nomad is a browser exension for Google Chrome, Edge and Firefox that automatically provides instant links to full text content for articles subscribed to by Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust or open access journals.

Download Libkey Nomad

Literature searching

For quick searches across all library resources, use NHS Knowledge and Library Hub

If you need to do a more advanced search in databases such as Medline and Embase go to Resources for advanced searching - Knowledge and Library Services

For more advice and help, visit our Searching the literature page.