Homepage: Databases and other online resources

Access healthcare databases to search for articles using the NHS Knowledge and Library Hub.

The Hub provides direct links to the following databases (scroll below the Hub search box to view the links)

• AMED (Proquest) – allied and complementary medicine including palliative care
• British Nursing Index (Proquest) – nursing, midwifery and community healthcare
• CINAHL (EBSCOHost)– nursing and allied health
• Cochrane LIbrary high quality systematic reviews on a range of health topics
• EMBASE (Ovid) – biomedical and pharmaceutical literature
• EMCARE (Ovid) – nursing and allied health
• HMIC (Ovid)– healthcare management
• Medline (Ovid or EBSCOHost) – biomedical, life sciences, allied health and pre-clinical sciences literature
• PsycINFO (Proquest) – psychology, behavioural sciences and related discipline
• Pubmed - alternative version of Medline
• Social Policy and Practice (Ovid) – behavioural and social sciences, social work and public health
• Trip Pro Database - tool for find high quality clinical research

The Hub itself also has a simple search box to search for journals, books and ebooks.

You can also access ClinicalKey with your NHS Open Athens account.

• Search across ClinicalKey for Medline abstracts, guidelines and Elseiver content such as  selected ejournals, full text ebooks using a single search box.

• Login with your NHS Open Athens account to access the databases.
   
• On first time use, it is advisable to create a personal account within the database platform in order to save and export articles and ensure you don't lose your search.
   
• For help and support
  • Check out the range of online training resources including videos and elearning available.
  • Contact BHT Library for training - we offer bookable sessions listed on our training section or you can arrange 121 training with one of our Clinical Outreach Librarians

Evidence-based summaries (all available with NHS Open Athens)

BMJ Best Practice - access the latest clinical information, with a UK focus in an easy digestable format. App available.

BJN Inform (Nursing) - access bite-sized summaries of clinical conditions and procedures aimed at nurses. Also includes content on professional issues, career development and leadership and wellbeing.

UpToDate - access in depth evidence summaries  based on the latest evidence. App 

See  the 'Get help' tab on the main menu for more information about these resources.

Other online resources

Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination -videos demonstrated effective physical examination, patient-professional communication best practice and OSCE scenarios. Login with NHS Open Athens.

BMJ Learning - elearning modules on a variety of clinical and professional topics relevant to doctors,, trainees, medical students and nurses. Login with NHS Open Athens.

Clinical Skills.net - clinical nursing/ HCSW procedures visually illustrated. Login with NHS Open Athens or access via the links bar at bottom of the CAKE/intranet home page.

Complete Anatomy - interactive, 3D anatomy resource available as a mobile app. 

EOLAS app for Trust clinical guidelines (details to follow).

Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures - Login with NHS Open Athens