Skip to Main Content

Homepage: Training

Training

How to book

Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust staff can book advertised training sessions. We are currently delivering all information skills training courses remotely, therefore it is paramount that you register at least 7 days before the advertised date of the session of interest. MS Teams invite will be sent to you in due course.

To arrange tailored training sessions for individuals or teams, please contact the Clinical Outreach Librarians on 01296 315427 or email: bht.clinicallibrarians@nhs.net

Useful links

Online training guides

Full Text Finder: Obtain Journal Articles Easily and Quickly

NEW!

In this dynamic half-hour training session, participants will learn how to seamlessly access journal articles using powerful tools like BrowZine, LibKey.io, and LibKey Nomad. Discover the quickest routes to obtaining full-text articles, ensuring a smoother research experience.

Attend if: you want to save time obtaining full text journal articles 

21/11/2023 (12:30 – 13:00)                                    Register Here

14/12/2023 (13:00 – 13:30)                                    Register Here

11/01/2024 (13:30 – 14:30)                                    Register Here

23/01/2024 (11:00 – 11:30)                                    Register Here

05/02/2024 (12:00 – 12:30)                                    Register Here

27/02/2024 (12:00 – 12:30)                                    Register Here

Library Open Door: Q&As

Ask questions, seek assistance, or simply connect with library staff.

Bring your lunch and join us online to discover how the library can support you with finding the best evidence and information for patient care, assignments, research, service improvement and professional development.

08/11/2023 (12:30 - 13:30)                                     Register Here

08/12/2023 (12:30 - 13:30)                                     Register Here

10/01/2024 (12:30 - 13:30)                                     Register Here

06/02/2024 (12:30 - 13:30)                                     Register Here

Beyond Google - Basic searching skills

We will be introducing the most widely used and respected research tool for nurses, students and allied health professionals. In this session we will look at keyword (free text) searching, refining search results, viewing, printing & emailing results. Learn how to use a single interface (NHS Knowledge & Library Hub) to access free authoritative resources such as full text articles, books and other resources.

Previous experience required: some experience of using the internet is required

13/11/2023 (13:00 - 13:30)                                     Register Here

04/12/2023 (10:00 - 10:30)                                     Register Here

09/01/2024 (13:30 - 14:00)                                     Register Here

20/02/2024 (13:30 - 14:00)                                     Register Here

Intermediate Evidence Searching - beyond the basics

Attendees will learn how to effectively and efficiently search medical/healthcare databases with NHS OpenAthens log in , as well as how to save searches and references, and to create and maintain a bibliography. You will be introduced to advanced search concepts on Ovid Medline. In this session we will look at Subject Searching, combining search results, saving and re-running saved searches, creating, and sharing custom folders.

Content:

  • Formulating an appropriate search question
  • Learn how to use filters to find relevant information quickly.
  • Save and retrieve searches using personalised features.
  • Tips and hints on finding full text articles using LibKey Nomad, Browzine or Libkey io

Attend if: 

You need to quickly find articles, books or grey literature for your assignment, presentation or research.

Previous experience required: familiarity with using computers and you have had no prior training in how to search databases

22/11/2023 (13:00 - 14:00)                                     Register Here

06/12/2023 (13:00 - 14:00)                                     Register Here

15/01/2024 (10:00 - 11:00)                                     Register Here

08/02/2024 (09:30 - 10:30)                              Register Here

Advanced literature searching

This session will introduce advanced search concepts for searching Ovid MEDLINE. In this session we will look at developing a complex search strategy, incorporating wildcards and proximity search operators, running freetext and MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) searches, and applying available filters to focus search results. In addition, saving and exporting search results in bibliographic management software, will also be demonstrated.

Content:

  • Formulating an appropriate search question
  • Identifying and understanding the different types of evidence
  • Using search engines and evidence tools such as Cochrane Library, Medline, Embase to find good quality health care information
  • Downloading and saving references

Attend if:

  • You need to find the best evidence to support patient care or service improvement
  • You need to search the primary literature for your research project or dissertation, or for the purposes of audit
  • You are required to do any form of literature review, including systematic reviews
  • You are embarking on a course of study, are writing an assignment, are returning to study or are researching a CPD topic

Previous experience required: some experience of using the internet is required; a familiarity with journal literature would also be useful.

Duration: 1 hour

15/11/2023 (13:00 - 14:00)                                     Register Here

05/12/2023 (11:00 - 12:00)                                     Register Here

12/01/2024 (10:00 - 11:00)                                     Register Here

13/02/2024 (11:00 - 12:00)                                     Register Here

12/03/2024 (10:00 - 11:00)                                     Register Here

How to read a paper: Introduction to critical appraisal

This course will help you understand how to critically evaluate medical research articles, with a particular emphasis on evaluating the reliability, trustworthiness, and applicability of research output in informing evidence-based practice and decision-making in a healthcare context.

Content:

  • Formulating a focussed research question
  • Understanding different research designs
  • Using CASP check list to critique a randomised control trial

Attend if:

  • you need to be able to judge the quality of published health care research in order to make decisions about patient care or service development;
  • you are carrying out a literature review or systematic review;
  • you are presenting at a journal club.

Previous experience required: the session works equally well as a refresher or introductory session on critical appraisal of quantitative research.

Duration: 2.5 hours

14/11/2023 (09:30 - 12:00)                                     Register Here

13/12/2023 (10:00 - 12:30)                                     Register Here

09/01/2024 (10:00 - 12:30)                                     Register Here

07/02/2024 (10:00 - 12:30)                                     Register Here

Using EndNote Reference Management System

Join us for an informative and concise training session on harnessing the power of EndNote Online, the leading reference management system. In this hands-on workshop, participants will learn the ins and outs of efficiently organizing, citing, and managing references.

  • Overview of the function of EndNote Basic (web version)
  • Inputting and importing references into EndNote
  • Storing and managing your references
  • Including references in your Word document
  • Advice on how to reference can also be provided, although this will not be part of the session unless specifically requested

Note: Teaching will be offered on the web version of EndNote as participants can access the resource from anywhere. A more advanced Desktop version of EndNote is provided on selected Library PCs; contact the library to arrange a session on using this version.

Attend if: you want to save time referencing or creating bibliographies in the documents you produce.

Previous experience required: familiarity with using computers.

09/11/2023 (13:30 – 14:30)                                    Register Here

14/12/2023 (09:30 – 10:30)                                    Register Here

17/01/2024 (13:00 – 14:00)                                    Register Here

16/02/2024 (12:00 – 13:00)                                    Register Here

Health Literacy: breaking down barriers to health information

Nearly half the adults in England (43%) struggle to understand health information. Learn about new tools to identify local levels of health literacy and techniques for improving health literacy through communication, navigation, knowledge-building, and advocacy to tackle the issue and to improve patient experience and outcome.

14/11/2023 (13:00 – 14:00)                                            Register Here

12/12/2023 (13:00 – 14:00)                                    Register Here

18/01/2024 (13:00 – 14:00)                                    Register Here

14/02/2024 (13:00 – 14:00)                                    Register Here

 

At the point of care tools

This is sessions will introduce you to many of our clinical at the point of care decision making tools including Up To Date and BMJ Best Practice.

You will be able to discover many of the useful tips and techniques to search and find answers to clinical questions in your clinical practice.

Up coming sessions:

              BMJ Best Practice

  • 16/11/2023 (13:00 – 14:00)                                    Register Here
  • 04/12/2023 (13:00 – 14:00)                                    Register Here
  • 16/01/2024 (13:00 – 14:00)                                    Register Here

Up To Date

  • 20/11/2023 (13:00 – 14:00)                                    Register Here
  • 20/12/2023 (13:00 – 14:00)                                    Register Here
  • 30/01/2024 (12:00 – 13:00)                                    Register Here

Networking with Twitter

This 30-minute training session aims to provide participants with a fundamental understanding of networking on Twitter. Whether you're a newcomer or looking to enhance your existing skills, this session will cover the basics of building and maintaining a professional network on one of the world's leading social media platforms.

Content:

  • Setting up a Twitter account
  • Building your network
  • Guidance on using Twitter professionally
  • Measuring your reach and impact

Attend if:

  • You want to use Twitter effectively for professional networking
  • You want to learn some power users’ tips and tricks’ and share your own
  • You want to evaluate your use of Twitter

Previous experience required: some experience of using web-based tools is helpful.

Duration: 30 minutes.

06/11/2023 (10:00 - 10:30)                                     Register Here

11/12/2023 (10:00 - 10:30)                                     Register Here

08/01/2024 (10:00 - 10:30)                                     Register Here

05/02/2024 (10:00 - 10:30)                                     Register Here